75. Madonna – ‘Jump’ (2005)

“I haven’t got much time to waste
It’s time to make my way
I’m not afraid of what I’ll face
But I’m afraid to stay
I’m going down my own road and I can make it alone
I’ll work and I’ll fight ’til I find a place of my own”

Written by Madonna/Stuart Price/Joe Henry

Produced by Stuart Price/Madonna

Taken from the album Confessions On A Dance Floor

Also released on The Confessions Tour

UK #9, AUS #29

‘Hung Up’ was transcendant but apart from that, ‘Jump’ was my favourite from Confessions. I was gutted when ‘Sorry’ was chosen as the second single and baffled when ‘Get Together’ was third, and by the time ‘Jump’ was released as fourth single hardly anyone could give a fuck. It was AWFUL, I tell you, and though ‘Jump’ may never get the recognition it deserves, it will always have a special place at number 75 in this countdown. And for that, Madonna should be very grateful indeed.

‘Jump’ is not just your average “Hey, be strong, I’m strong, cool” anthem, it is THE be strong anthem. At least in my mind. The verses are full of barely-disguised cliches that just seem to work so well here, with the disco setting, with the whole image of the Confessions era. That chorus, that simple, epic chorus (“Are you ready to jump? Get ready to jump? Don’t ever look back. Ooh baby.”) is as infectious and uplifting as music gets.

The live version from the Confessions tour is absolutely my favourite version. It takes the amazing album mix and turns it into an absolute blockbuster, dripping with energy and exploding right in your face like a can of Coke someone dropped on the floor. There is a moment, it lasts for only a few seconds, which is possibly the most heart-burstingly amazing moment in all of Madonna’s history (possibly), in the live version of ‘Jump’. “I can make it alone” she repeats, as the music slowly drops away from beneath her. Suddenly, it swells back again, leaping at you as it was sent from heaven, spinning and cascading and very nearly punching you directly in the ear as if to say “THIS IS THE MOST THRILLING BIT OF ANY SONG YOU WILL EVER HEAR”. That is how I feel about ‘Jump’: it punches me in the ear, in the best way possible.

Live at the Confessions tour:

2 Responses to “75. Madonna – ‘Jump’ (2005)”

  1. Rabbitbunny Says:

    How many times has she Outdone Herself? Once again with Jump, Madonna found Strength and Transcendence. A song about being a gypsy constantly on the move, Lady Ciccone happily sings/cries “I can make it alone/Are you ready to Jump?/I’ll work and I’ll Fight until I Find
    a place of my own”-that could just as well be Madonna’s statement of purpose. Here, she sounds so happy that her smile can go on forever through her sad tears. She is so caught up in her performance that it makes me, the rest of us and the lady herself cry with joy and happiness
    -and sadness and heartbreak. However, isn’t that what Life and Love
    are all about? Absolutely! And That is why I’m giving Jump-out of all her dance pieces an A Plus and Five Lucky Stars. Madonna is a Star in every sense of the phrase because in Jump, she feels happy! Bravo Madge!

  2. jh Says:

    love love love this song. Madge you rule.

Leave a Reply

