100. Britney Spears – ‘Everytime’ (2003)

“Everytime I try to fly
I fall without my wings
I feel so small
I guess I need you baby
And everytime I see you in my dreams
I see your face
It’s haunting me
I guess I need you baby”

Written by Britney Spears/Annette Stamatelatos

Produced by Guy Sigsworth

Taken from the album In The Zone

Also released on Greatest Hits: My Prerogative, B In The Mix: The Remixes and The Singles Collection

UK #1, AUS #1, US #15

With a piano sound that can only be described as “plink-plonky”, Britney Spears opens our top 100 with the very best she has to offer. When people think of Britney Spears they think of flashing lights, dancers, costumes, all the things that make her what she is: a fucking amazing popstar. But it’s telling – and so very “Britney” – for her best work to be the complete opposite of what we expect from her.

‘Everytime’ is a fragile, emotional ballad, featuring Britney’s most effective vocal performance and some of her most revealing lyrics. “Every time I try to fly I fall without my wings, I feel so small”, she sings, a clear departure from being stronger than yesterday or fighting against the music or flirting with the verge of obscene. At the end of the hypersexual, club-heavy album In The Zone, Britney takes a step back and after revealing all of her sexuality to us, she opens up and reveals to us her deepest thoughts and feelings.

“I may have made it rain
Please forgive me
My weakness caused you pain
And this song’s my sorry”

That verse gets me no matter how many times I’ve heard it. The way her voice very nearly almost cracks, the way the music swells behind her and then slowly falls away, the way this song confounds every expectation we ever had of Britney Spears. This is why people obsess over her. This is why she is light years ahead of her peers. While ‘Everytime’ is playing, the rest of the world just falls away.

Music video:

Leave a Reply

