161. Beatles – ‘In My Life’ (1965)

“There are places I remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone, and some remain
All these places have their moments
With lovers and friends I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I’ve loved them all”

Taken from the album Rubber Soul

Also released on 1962-1966

‘In My Life’ is one of those songs that means so much to so many people, it’s getting hard to articulate just why this is so. It’s a song about life and death, about love, about looking back and looking ahead. It’s a song about everything, really. Who couldn’t relate to this? If you’ve ever had a friend, a family, a memory, ‘In My Life’ is bound to stir up some emotions within you (and without you).

The first verse of the song is quoted above, perhaps the most wistful, nostalgic reminiscing to be found the other side of ‘Being Boring’. The second verse then takes a different stance and proclaims that the memories lose their meaning when faced with a future full of love with someone new. The two ideals work against each other in theory but in practice sound beautiful together. After the Beatles broke up the song would come to symbolise their work together and what the future would bring.

Although it was never released as a single, ‘In My Life’ has become more acclaimed and more famous than some of the songs that actually were released as singles. It is one of many Beatles tracks to hold a place in the public’s heart, but perhaps none of them did sophisticated nostalgia as well as ‘In My Life’ did.

Anthology intro:

One Response to “161. Beatles – ‘In My Life’ (1965)”

  1. My, There Are A Lot Of Idiots… :The Beatles And Their Music Says:

    […] 161. Beatles – ‘In My Life’ (1965) « The Gospel According To Richard Croft 1… […]

Leave a Reply

