216. Madonna featuring Justin Timberlake & Timbaland – ‘4 Minutes’ (2008)

“No hesitating!”

Taken from the album Hard Candy

UK #1, AUS #1, US #3

And I’m not sorry. It’s human nature to love ‘4 Minutes’. I’m not your bitch, and so on. Really though, ever since the premiere of ‘4 Minutes’ I’ve loved it to death, and it’s never really lost it’s impact. I still listen to it quite regularly, it’s still one of my most played songs ever according to all the programs that add that up, and I will defend it till the day I die. First things first though, the song is lyrically vapid, completely void of any actual meaning because words that sound nice next to each other.

It never ceases to amaze me that a song with such nonsense for words was able to go ahead as the lead single for a Madonna album, and in fact she said in an interview, about the lyrics: “I don’t think it’s meant to be taken too literally”. Yeah, you’re telling me, because taking it literally would reveal that it has NO MEANING. “You gotta get on my hop”, “a you intervention”, “the road to hell is paved with good intentions… yeah!!” – the whole thing is ridiculous.

So it should tell you something that a song with no lyrical meaning whatsoever is still good enough to be so far up this list, and I think I have a similar line of thought to the producers themselves: who the fuck cares about the lyrics when the music is this good? Back of the line ‘SexyBack’, move over ‘We Need A Resolution’, because this is very nearly the hottest Timbaland production I’ve ever heard. That marching band beat, that noise that goes “MOOOOA” in the background, “fricki fricki four minutes EH” – this song is incredible. Producers die (yes, DIE) for beats like this. Mix that with the natural catchiness of the stupid lyrics, the hook line “We’ve only got four minutes to save the world!”, the biggest female star in the history of the world, the hottest producer around, and some boyband guy – you have yourself one of the most underrated singles I think I’ve ever had the pleasure of being obsessed with. Oh, and Madonna looked so hot in the video that I almost dropped dead.

One Response to “216. Madonna featuring Justin Timberlake & Timbaland – ‘4 Minutes’ (2008)”

  1. Rabbitbunny Says:

    Once again, Madonna outdoes herself. With Four Minutes, Our Siren delivers a song that is an anthem for us seekers looking for a way out of the world’s troubles and into Transcendence. Lady Radiates in the video because she is helping everyone out to save the world-through singing, dancing and helping out. Madonna has saved the world one brilliant song at a time. Never has a Centurion looked so hot or been so intelligent.
    Madonna-I will have some more hard candy, my pleasure because you’ve saved the world with a joy in your heart. Tick-tock, Tick-tock,
    Tick-tock. Game over, Madonna wins.

Leave a Reply

